What affects Interstial Fluid?

I just saw in another thread the mention of dehydration and its effect on interstitial fluid. I’m curious if anyone knows of anything else that could have an effect?

I’m asking because I use my calibration factor to help guide decisions throughout my day. I calculate it using my current BG and the ISig that I get from my Medtronic Guardian. Up until about 6 weeks ago, this number was critical in helping me to avoid the swings, but something has changed, and I’ve been having a hard time learning its patterns again.

Generally speaking, I usually have a range between 2-7 or 8, but my range for the last many weeks has gone up to 5-12. This is an enormous jump for me, and I’m not sure how to use the numbers. Interestingly, this jump in range has not seemed to have affected the Sensor’s accuracy (still consistently inaccurate at best) except to make calibrating difficult.

I am trying to figure out what could’ve changed since I started studying this almost 8 months ago. I thought it was the batch of sensors, thought it was the transmitter. All have been replaced. Now I’m wondering about something more internal… could inflammation affect interstitial fluid? Or what about a change in diet??

You guys might not have any idea. I obviously don’t. But, as usual, if you have any thoughts AT ALL, I sure would like to hear them…

On the simplest level, overhydration can also affect interstitial fluid, but whether the effect parallels that of dehydration when it comes to sensor reliability, I don’t know. Are you drinking more because the weather is warmer and/or you’re exercising more?

2 Likes

What an interesting idea… I’d hardly call what I’m doing “overhydration”, BUT there has been a change in the amount of water I’m drinking. I’m usually terrible about water, but I’ve been making myself drink about 32 oz a day. Is there a chance that change could account for it??