Using lag time

I have recently transitioned to the fsl and omnipod, have been on fsl 4+ months and pod 3 weeks. I feel like I have been chasing my sugar for a few months. Alot has to do with my eating habblit (terrible stomach issues) This weekend I started experimenting with my bg #'s, I know the fsl and cgm have a lag compared to fs. I like to check my bg by fs before bolusing but have been either over or under shooting, have tested and adjusted my values to little help.
This weekend I came up with a plan but am not sure if I am right in my thinking on this. I have started reading my fsl and doing a finger stick at the same time, knowing my fsl lags the difference between let’s me know which way my sugar is going and how fast, I don’t put much faith in those arrows. I think doing this is helping keep me from going low. Tonite for example my fsl read 233, when I did fs it was 153, this told me is was heading down I waited and when I checked again (both) I was right at 100 with only a 2 point difference which let me know I was stable.
This info is important to me because of my stomach I learned long ago I have to do things a little different as in when I eat I can’t bolus for meals at one time, I have learned to do a temp basal increase an hour before and do a series of small (to me) 1 or 2 unit boluses until I start to drop.
Anyway the way I am comparing the reading sound correct? Haven’t been doing for long so not knowing how well it works. Do know I have had very few lows doing this, normally keep b’s under 180 but lately I have been venturing into the mid 200’s.

2 Likes