T1 for 45 years

I have been diabetic since age 1 (1973). I am on MDI and have a DexCom (just started on the G6). My control is good. My A1C is good (5.8). If I could work on something it would be to decrease my standard deviation (variability). I have always had pretty good control and have no side effects. I keep pretty active, playing soccer and swimming, so that helps a lot.

Personally, I live in Seattle. I am a special education teacher, teaching transition skills for students between the ages of 18-21. I have 3 children (10 year old twin girls and a 12 year old boy) so I am always very busy.

9 Likes

Welcome Hleyton! Always great to have another member of the old-school!
:wink:

I was right there with you. 1972 and 46 years now.
:heart:

1 Like

Wow! @Hleyton you are an inspiration, and proof that T1s can be Unlimited!

3 Likes

Wow, you really donā€™t know what life was like before D.

Iā€™m in the 50+ club, but had 5 years diabetes-free.

Welcome!

3 Likes

@Hleyton Welcome! I am at 47 years, but was diagnosed at 19 years old. Like you I have no complications or diabetes related problems and maintain a 5.8 A1c on MDI. Likewise, my SD could be better. Maybe FUD can help us both get there.

5 Likes

Iā€™ve heard this a lot, but most studies seem to say the A1C was the key correlation to complications.

I feel like I should be doing the same, I do so with lower carb, but is it really helping??

3 Likes

Welcome!

I have only had diabetes for 27 years at this point (I was diagnosed at age 9). I have also never had an A1c in the 5% range, so Iā€™m impressed! I hope to get there one of these days.

I also teach in the special education field. Love the field and my job. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

My doctors are always saying that having an A1C that is low as a result of averaging out highs and lows can still result in complications but studies donā€™t really show that. I think they are just worried about my lows.

5 Likes