Measuring IOB

Hi, I’m a new T1D parent, but I work in tech and am starting to explore the DIY tech side of the T1D world. My daughter is on the Dexcom G6 and omnipod and I’m struggling to wrap my head around the IOB “safety” feature. Our CDE advised that we set IOB to 3 hours, but I’m finding that to be a completely arbitrary number, depending on the time of day, activity, etc. In the mornings, it’s too long; in the evenings it’s too short; and during her recent growth spurt, I believe the IOB feature existed solely to drive me crazy.

I’ve read through some threads here, but still have a few questions:

1. Is there any tech out there that measures concentration of insulin in the blood stream?

2. How do you manage the IOB feature from day to day? Do you consider this feature differently when you have a particularly active day?

3. Being new, I still fear the double arrow down. So when my daughter’s numbers run very high, I’ll partially correct with a bolus and then bump up the basal as well. Do bolus and basal impact IOB in different ways?

Any thoughts would be appreciated, or feel free to redirect me to other threads if these topics are covered elsewhere. Thank you!
Kate

4 Likes

For us, this is mostly an indicator for us of how much we may need to correct in the event a meal doesn’t react as anticipated and starts pushing him down into low territory. We calculate how many carbs need to be consumed to account for the IOB so that he doesn’t end up low. Besides that, it’s just to see how much he has in his system so that you don’t end up administering too much…it keeps track of it so that we don’t have too.

For us, insulin is insulin. It’s all Novolog…whether it’s basal or bolus, so we don’t see them as much different because they’re really not. It’s called something different and they serve different purposes, but the impact is pretty much the same…too much and BG’s will fall. Too little and they’ll rise.