Insurance jargon question

Just a quick question about insurance jargon…I am looking at signing up for a new group plan and found this in the marketing info:

“The Select Plan is medically underwritten (all size firms).”

What specifically does this mean WRT diabetes?
Thanks

1 Like

I am no expert and there’s not a whole lot of context there to analyze but at a glance I would think it might be referring to a plan being self funded by the employer? Just speculating?

Medical underwriting means there are medical criteria that determine who is eligible to join the plan, or what the plan costs. More generally, insurance underwriters are the folks who decide whether a risk is worth covering at a given premium (or at all).

So yes, it would be good for you to look into this further; contact this plan and see whether you can get it and what it would cost you.

1 Like

Also if it’s a group plan, and you’re part of the group, you can get coverage with no additional headaches than anyone else has. All the noise about health insurance in the media lately has only been about individual plans wrt preexisting conditions etc. group plans essentially haven’t changed in decades in that regard… members of the group can’t be excluded for any reason. (With minimal exceptions in certain states that can allow a temporary PEC exclusion for a few months only if going from completely uninsured to on the group plan… not an issue with contiguous coverage)

1 Like

Yes that is what I’ve always thought too. But this new plan I’m looking at is a large group plan, an association health trust. Not sure how they are allowed to use medical underwriting if it means excluding people based on medical history.

I’ll be talking with one of their sales people and will get clarification.

1 Like

If it’s a group plan, it cannot mean that and never could. Rest assured. And currently no matter what type of plan it is, it cannot mean that…

@John58, I would love to find out what they tell you.