Insulin Rant

I am steaming from both ears$@$!

I’m at Costco to pick up a Toujeo prescription. I have two prescriptions for it on file with them. They used the newest prescription first and that’s out of refills. The older prescription is now out of date by about a week.

Ok. I’m angry at their incompetence, but I tell them that’s ok, I’ll just write a prescription myself. I have done this several times previously with no problem.

The fill in pharmacist proceeds to tell me that she can’t accept my prescription for insulin because it is out of my scope of practice as a dentist! I should say that I have a six year history of writing and filling prescriptions with this Costco pharmacy.

I’m angry now. I tell the pharmacist that I’ve been taking insulin for 45 years, I’m a doctor, I probably know more about diabetes and treating it than 90% of gp’s who she accepts the same prescription from. She tells me she doesn’t care how much I know, it’s still out of my scope!!

When the hell is the Damn FDA going to make accommodation for those diabetics who have taken the time to learn how to take care of themselves, have achieved homeostasis, and need a drug so they can continue to live?

/rant off

3 Likes

Especially infuriating because a slightly different formulation of insulin is available over the counter without a prescription.

1 Like

Since when is the pharmacist (or more than likely a pharmacy tech) able to regulate the scope of practice of a licensed prescriber? Is that really within their scope?

1 Like

Each state has rules. The pharmacist cannot regulate, only apply.

This was a pharmacist. About as old as my oldest grandchild.

The state laws allow a pharmacist to determine if a prescription is within the scope of the prescriber’s practice. It is at the judgement of the pharmacist. She was within her legal rights to refuse my license for an insulin prescription. But within her power of reason she was a moron.