Hydroxychloroquine for Covid-19

Interested in everyone’s opinion/perspective on Hydroxychloroquine as either prophalactic or treatment for Covid-19.

The data is preliminary and mixed. This article out of France talks about the shortcomings in our understanding due to the inability to do proper research at this moment in time when speed is more important than fully vetting the answers.

Another small trial out of China:

My answer to you is that it looks like it may help patients that come down with Covid-19, but much more data is needed. To answer your second question i.e. prophylactic treatment; it looks like that is starting to be studied. The nice part about the drug is that it is an older treatment so the safety profile is understood.

I am skeptical about any such treatment with the limited amount of data available.

6 Likes

@Chris
I’m a scientist, so naturally I want to see peer-reviewed data before making a conclusion. But, times are extraordinary, and there are a number of Drs taking it as a prophalactic based on the scant data available. Quite a few anecdotes of successful treatment, but they are anecdotes. I don’t know what to think. I took hydroxychloroquine for rheumatoid arthritis for 20 years, so the short-term safety is not an issue. Long-term use (20 years) resulted in retinal toxicity. Just an interesting possibility.

4 Likes

While it would be nice in that it is known and understood drug, I still think taking it on a prophylactic basis is a bit unnecessary if you are practicing social distancing. Physicians who are treating patients with Covid-19 are being exposed to the virus on a daily basis are in a different category in my mind. i.e. they are at a very high risk of infection, so the risk from the drug is proportionately lower whereas someone who is properly isolating is at much lower risk and therefore the drug risk becomes much less acceptable.

2 Likes