Greater insulin resistance in winter?

Since this is my first year with T1 I wanted to ask: do folks get greater insulin resistance in winter?

The past month and a half or so my ratios have shifted from approximately 1:10, 1:15, 1:18 (on exercise days) and 1:9, 1:13, 1:15 (on non-exercise days) to more like 1:7.5, 1:11, 1:14. I gave 4u for 32g this morning and had to take a hot shower and walk a mile and a half to settle down in the 90s. Doing that in fall would have tanked me. I’d say I’m giving 1-1.5u more per meal right now. There’s some research on this that isn’t strong or conclusive, but I wondered if others have anecdata.

4 Likes

I haven’t looked on the internet, but anecdotally I would agree on the observation that you need more insulin in winter.

From my anecdotal perspective, I wouldn’t call it insulin resistance; i would call it hibernation. I’m not as active and so the insulin has to work harder since there’s less exercise to help.

5 Likes

Yes, it is a fairly common thing. Our body is designed to store more in the winter months. And people are generally less active in the winter months.

But aside from the general population, also consider that your body is not going to be static over the next several years. So you might also simply be seeing a progression in just needing more exogenous insulin.

4 Likes

That has been my experience. To adjust for seasons I need to increase my basal in fall and reduce again in spring. My gut feel is it’s a combination of differing activity levels and diet that occurs with reduced daylight hours. I also have noticed that even small weight gain of 3-4 pounds can cause a significant increase of insulin resistance.

2 Likes