(another) Exercise question, I wonder if others have similar issues

Hi All,

So I’ve been exercising for many years but lately have increased the cardio significantly over the last few months particularly in the late mornings.

I’m curious if anyone else has had repeated low blood sugars in afternoons to early evenings regardless of basal being set to zero in this time frame and many carbs being taken.

I’ve dosed immediately post-exercise to reload the glycogen with some fast acting carbs.

Thank you!

4 Likes

So it’s a few hours following the exercise?

2 Likes

Yes, around 5 hours after and lasting for 3 hours. I haven’t had this phenomenon before and it’s pretty remarkable how many carbs are needed to simply keep the number from plummeting without much insulin in the system. My approach to reload glycogen right after the workout is 6 units of humalog and maybe 50 carbs. Also have noticed some occasional blood sugar rises from cortisol during this time if there isn’t enough insulin.

Approximately 7:30-8 PM it’s time to get some insulin back in the system although sometimes additional drops can follow. Over the last few months the progress has been from having 45 minute zone 2 session a few times a week to around 100 minutes per session.

Do you think this implies more carbs and insulin are needed post-workout?

Back in my younger years I played water polo and had to go on shopping sprees at 7-11 after the practices to keep the BG up and maintain body weight.

3 Likes

It depends on the workout intensity and which muscles you are using. Most likely you are not completely depleting muscle glycogen, unless it is a significant workout.

But workouts can also be cumulative, so if you are doing it everyday, you will become more and more depleted.

It might be that the 6 units is too much. You might want to reduce the 6 units and stick with the 50 grams, but also continue feeding (and possibly injecting if needed) for several hours afterwards too.